Know how: The Recycle bin

Know how: The recycle bin

viflow objects deleted from the process model or from the graphics are first moved to the recycle bin. From there, the objects can be restored or permanently deleted by emptying the recycle bin. We would like to show you here how to use the delete function safely.

Deleting objects

Deleting viflow objects from the graphic

Select the objects to be deleted on the process graphic and press the [DEL] key.

Note: If objects (processes, areas, information) are deleted from the process graphic, they are retained in the process model and can still be used.

 

Objects with local properties

If an object has local properties that are lost when it is deleted from the graphic, a corresponding warning message appears. If you confirm this with Yes, the local properties of the object in this graphic are irrevocably deleted. The object itself is removed from the graphic, but its global properties can still be used.

 

Processes with incoming or outgoing connectors

Processes cannot be deleted from the graphic as long as connectors are still connected to them.

The most reliable way to remove the assignment between connector and process is in developer mode. Activate developer mode under File – Options – General – Developer Mode.

The Graphics tab now appears in the properties window of the main process. Here you can remove the assignment of the corresponding connector by right-clicking. Once this has been done, the process can be deleted.

 

Delete viflow objects from the process model

To delete a viflow object from the process model, right-click on the object in the corresponding viflow window (e.g. Processes, Information, Areas) and select Delete from the context menu. Alternatively, you can select the object and press the [DEL] key. A dialog appears, the content of which differs depending on the object type and sub-objects.

When deleting viflow objects from the process model, they are first moved to the recycle bin. Only when the recycle bin is emptied or the objects are manually removed from the recycle bin are they permanently deleted.

Note: If you press the [SHIFT] and [DEL] key simultaneously, the object will be permanently deleted without moving it to the recycle bin. The object cannot be restored!

 

This is what the individual options mean when deleting viflow objects using the process object as an example

  • The shape:
    This shape is deleted from the graphic AND from the process model and moved to the recycle bin.

  • The object:
    This shape remains in the graphic, only the object is deleted from the process model and moved to the recycle bin. If the recycle bin is emptied, the shape also disappears from the graphic.

  • The object and all sub-Processes:
    This shape remains in the graphic, only the object and all subordinate processes are deleted from the process model and moved to the recycle bin. If the recycle bin is emptied, the shape also disappears from the graphic.

  • None:
    The window is closed, no object is deleted.

Using the recycle bin

Navigation in the recycle bin

Open the recycle bin via View – Recycle bin. Right-click on one or more objects in the recycle bin and select the desired action from the context menu. If there are folders in the recycle bin, their contents can be accessed either by double-clicking on the folder or using the arrow button in the navigation bar.

Note: Object properties cannot be edited in the recycle bin.

Restoring viflow objects from the recycle bin

Select one or more objects from the list in the recycle bin and right-click to open the context menu. If you now select Restore, the objects are removed from the recycle bin and reinserted in their original location.

Deleting viflow objects from the recycle bin

Select one or more objects from the list in the recycle bin and open the context menu by right-clicking. If you now select Delete, the objects are irrevocably deleted from the recycle bin.

Empty the entire recycle bin

To permanently delete the entire contents of the recycle bin, right-click in the recycle bin window and select the Empty Recycle Bin entry. Alternatively, you can also delete the contents of the recycle bin via the Recycle Bin tab – Clear.

 

Differences between viflow 8 and the current version of viflow (subscription)

The search

The viflow 8 search does not search the recycle bin. In viflow (subscription), entries in the recycle bin are crossed out.

Search the recycle bin in viflow
The recycle bin can be searched in viflow ( subscription)

 

Editing objects

In viflow 8, properties of objects in the recycle bin can be edited. These are locked in viflow (subscription).

The properties of objects in the recycle bin are locked in viflow (subscription)
The properties of objects in the recycle bin are locked in viflow (subscription)

 

View in the recycle bin

The recycle bin in viflow (subscription) has an additional references column, which helps to identify objects.

References in viflow (subscription)
References in viflow (subscription)

 

Marking of objects

If objects are deleted from the process model in viflow 8, they remain in the graphic. In viflow (Abo), objects in the graphic that are in the recycle bin are clearly marked as such.

In viflow (subscription), deleted objects are marked on the graphic
In viflow (subscription), deleted objects are marked on the graphic